TasRail Menu

Board of Directors

TasRail has a skills based board of Non-Executive Directors led by Chairman Robert Annells.

Robert Annells

Robert Annells image

Independent Non-Executive Chairman
Chairman Governance and Remuneration Committee
Member, Capital Projects Committee

Bob Annells is the Chairman of VicTrack, the Melbourne Convention Centre & Exhibition Trust and Forestry Tasmania. He was previously Executive Chairman of Connex Melbourne from 2003-2009. During this time he also was chair of Veolia Australia and of two subsidiary companies, Connex  Auckland and Mainco Melbourne. Veolia is largest privately owned transport operator in Australia and Manico Melbourne was the maintainer of all rolling stock and infrastructure involved in the Melbourne train system. Bob is also a past chairman of the Tourism Tasmania Board and has also served as a Director of the Tasmanian Development Board. He was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2001.

Sarah Merridew

Sarah Merridew image

Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairperson Finance Audit & Compliance Committee
Member, Safety & Performance Committee
Member, Governance & Remuneration Committee

Sarah is a Chartered Accountant and former Partner at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu. She has extensive experience in providing audit and risk management advisory services to both the private and public sectors. Sarah is also a Director of MyState Ltd and its subsidiaries, along with the Tasmanian Water & Sewerage Corporation.  She is also the Honorary Treasurer of the Royal Flying Doctor Service (Tasmania) in addition to being actively involved with many other community organisations.  Sarah is also a past Director of the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation and Tasmanian Perpetual Trustees.

Samantha Hogg

Samantha Hogg image

Independent Non-Executive Director

Samantha Hogg brings 25 years of experience in executive management across the resources and infrastructure sectors and broad Australian and International experience in finance, marketing and strategic projects. Her most recent executive role was as Chief Financial Officer of Transurban, through a period when the business grew to become a top 20 ASX company. Samantha was also responsible for recapitalising the company in 2008 through the Global Financial Crisis and she successfully financed and transacted the $7.1 billion acquisition of Queensland Motorways Limited. Samantha recently purchased a farm in Northern Tasmania where she now resides. She is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Non-Executive Director of Hydro Tasmania and MaxiTrans Industries Limited. In September 2016, Samantha was appointed Chair of Tasmanian Irrigation.

Stephen Cantwell

Stephen Cantwell image

Independent Non-Executive Director

Stephen Cantwell was appointed to the TasRail Board in November 2016. With almost 40 years’ experience in a broad range of strategic, functional and customer-facing roles within multi-billion dollar national and international business environments, Stephen has extensive functional and operational experience backed by strong commercial acumen. Stephen’s most recent executive role was as Executive General Manager Mineral Processing at Bradken, a global mineral processing, transport and industrial businesses. He was responsible for manufacturing operations in Australasia, China, India and North America, as well as for sales and distribution in Australasia, Asia, Africa, North America and South America. He retired from Bradken in September 2016. A former Chief Executive Officer of Queensland Rail, Stephen has strong international and business credentials. He now continues to work with a range of global corporations and governments to advise in the areas of transport, logistics and infrastructure. Stephen holds a Business Degree from the University of Southern Queensland, majoring in Operations Research and Information Systems, a Graduate Diploma in Transport Management and a Master of Business Degree from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. He is also a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Transport and Logistics, a Fellow of the Centre for Integrated Engineering Management, and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Roger Gill
Roger served as Executive Director and Acting Chief Executive of TasRail from 23 November 2009 to 28 April 2010, from which time he served as a Non-Executive Director until 2 September 2015. As the inaugural TasRail Chief Executive, Roger is credited with creating momentum in the newly created TasRail and for the development of the Rail Recovery Plan. This was a substantial and complex undertaking that identified TasRail's short and medium term operational and capital priorities and the Company's funding requirements for its first four years. The success of the Rail Recovery Plan has provided the very strong foundation from which TasRail has continued to develop.

Robert Neil
Robert served as a foundation Executive Director of TasRail from 4 November 2009 to 30 November 2016. During his time on the Board, Robert was Chairman of the Strategy and Risk Management Committee; Member of the Finance, Audit and Compliance Committee; Member of the Safety and Environment Committee (until 1 October 2015); and Member of the Governance and Remuneration Committee.