TasRail Menu

Board of Directors

TasRail has a skills based board of Non-Executive Directors led by Chairman Robert Annells.

Robert Annells

Robert Annells image

Independent Non-Executive Chairman
Chairman Governance and Remuneration Committee
Member, Capital Projects Committee

Bob Annells is the Chairman of VicTrack, the Melbourne Convention Centre & Exhibition Trust and Forestry Tasmania. He was previously Executive Chairman of Connex Melbourne from 2003-2009. During this time he also was chair of Veolia Australia and of two subsidiary companies, Connex  Auckland and Mainco Melbourne. Veolia is largest privately owned transport operator in Australia and Manico Melbourne was the maintainer of all rolling stock and infrastructure involved in the Melbourne train system. Bob is also a past chairman of the Tourism Tasmania Board and has also served as a Director of the Tasmanian Development Board. He was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2001.

Robert Neil

Robert Neil image

Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairman Strategy and Risk Management Committee
Member, Safety and Performance Committee
ember, Finance Audit and Compliance Committee
Member, Governance and Remuneration Committee

Bob’s principal career was in the oil and gas industry. He’s held numerous Senior Executive roles in engineering, gas marketing and strategic planning with Esso Australia. He was also Director-General of the NSW Department of Energy from 1996-2001 prior to accepting a four-year appointment with the Tasmanian Government to manage the state’s entry into the national electricity market. Bob has also previously served Northern Territory’s Power and Water Corporation from 2005-2009. Bob is a fellow of both the Institute of Engineers Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and is a current Director of Neil Consulting Pty Ltd.

Sarah Merridew

Sarah Merridew image

Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairperson Finance Audit & Compliance Committee
Member, Safety & Performance Committee
Member, Governance & Remuneration Committee

Sarah is a Chartered Accountant and former Partner at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu. She has extensive experience in providing audit and risk management advisory services to both the private and public sectors. Sarah is also a Director of MyState Ltd and its subsidiaries, along with the Tasmanian Water & Sewerage Corporation.  She is also the Honorary Treasurer of the Royal Flying Doctor Service (Tasmania) in addition to being actively involved with many other community organisations.  Sarah is also a past Director of the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation and Tasmanian Perpetual Trustees.

David George

David George image

Independent Non-Executive Director
Chairman Safety and Performance Committee
Member Capital Projects Committee
Member, Governance and Remuneration Committee

David has more than 30 years experience in the rail industry. He’s a former Chief Executive of ONTRACK (New Zealand rail network) from 2004-2007. He’s also managed Queensland Rail’s coal and freight businesses between 1998-2004. Prior to that he was the director of European Business for British Rail in the run up to opening of the Channel Tunnel. David is currently a Director of Queensland Rail Ltd and a Member of the Queensland Rail Board.  He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport Australia. 

Samantha Hogg

Samantha Hogg image

Independent Non-Executive Director

Samantha Hogg brings 25 years of experience in executive management across the resources and infrastructure sectors and broad Australian and International experience in finance, marketing and strategic projects. Her most recent executive role was as Chief Financial Officer of Transurban, through a period when the business grew to become a top 20 ASX company. Samantha was also responsible for recapitalising the company in 2008 through the Global Financial Crisis and she successfully financed and transacted the $7.1 billion acquisition of Queensland Motorways Limited. Samantha recently purchased a farm in Northern Tasmania where she now resides. She is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Non-Executive Director of Hydro Tasmania and MaxiTrans Industries Limited. In September 2016, Samantha was appointed Chair of Tasmanian Irrigation.


Roger Gill served as Executive Director and Acting Chief Executive of TasRail from 23 November 2009 to 28 April 2010, from which time he served as a Non-Executive Director until 2 September 2015. As the inaugural TasRail Chief Executive, Roger is credited with creating momentum in the newly created TasRail and for the development of the Rail Recovery Plan. This was a substantial and complex undertaking that identified TasRail's short and medium term operational and capital priorities and the Company's funding requirements for its first four years. The success of the Rail Recovery Plan has provided the very strong foundation from which TasRail has continued to develop.

TasRail thanks Roger for his contribution over the past five and half years.